Cooking / Spring Recipes / Vegetarian

Asparagus Salad

I have a tradition every year.

I stop eating strawberries.

Usually around April, I start thinking (nay, dreaming) about fresh, Michigan strawberries. So, in honor of the humble strawberry, I try not to eat the gross, flavorless California strawberries that fill my local grocery store. (No offense, California, I’m sure your strawberries are delicious when they are fresh too!). This way, by the time June comes, I am more than ready to crawl around in the dirt at my local you-pick patch. This is why I sneak bites, while still in the field.  I always pick more than I should and I make a ton of jam as well any strawberry-themed foods I find on pinterest. I eat them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and sometime (just before blueberry season) I hit a wall. The last few stragglers of strawberries are hanging out and starting to wilt or mush and eating them begins to feel like a chore. This is how I know it’s time to start getting excited for blueberries.

What does this have to do with asparagus?  Well I also love asparagus, but sometimes asparagus season sweeps right past me. So this year, I made a promise to eat asparagus the way I eat strawberries. No one else in my family likes it, so this will be a solo venture. I generally sauté it as a side dish with various vinegarettes, seasonings, or vinegars, but last week I tried this salad which I found at Skinnytaste.com and it was amazing and so, so easy.

So if you are an asparagus-lover, I suggest you give it a try!

Asparagus Egg and Bacon Salad 

Skinnytaste.com
Servings: 1  Serving Size: 1 salad • Old Points: 5 pts • Points+: 6 pts
Calories: 219 • Fat: 13 g • Protein: 16 g • Carb: 11 g • Fiber: 5 g • Sugar: 1 g
Sodium: 306 mg (without salt) 

b030b6615627a8116b1577c142c90cd2

Ingredients:

  • 1 large hard boiled egg, peeled and sliced
  • 1 2/3 cups chopped asparagus
  • 2 slices cooked and crumbled center cut bacon
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon red wine vinegar
  • pinch salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

Bring a pot of water to a boil, add the asparagus and cook 2 to 3 minutes, until tender yet firm. Drain and run under cold water to stop it from cooking further. Set aside.

In a small bowl mix the Dijon, oil, vinegar and a pinch of salt and pepper.

Arrange the asparagus on a plate, top with egg and bacon and drizzle with the vinaigrette. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

